Just FYI: Instagram Will Rat You Out for Screenshotting Disappearing Messages

Did you know that Instagram is sending notifications when you or your friends take a screenshot of someone’s photos? Good idea?

Check out this cool article below courtesy of Complex.com for all the deets on Instagram’s new feature.

 


Instagram launched a few more Snapchat-esque new features earlier this month, including the ability to send “disappearing” photos and videos to the people in your life worthy of that style of communication. All obvious Snapchat jokes aside, the feature is a cool one and even comes complete with exactly what you should have expected: screenshot notifications!

This shouldn’t be a huge deal for normal, non-creepy, regular-ass people who acknowledge that screen shotting a message that’s meant to be private and temporary is totally a douche bag move. But what about all the other shit on Instagram? Are people, as a few broad headlines have suggested, now getting notifications for all screenshots? To paraphrase Mashable’s report on this matter: Nah.

But that hasn’t stopped everyone from freaking the fuck out:

“Since launching improvements to Instagram Direct last year, the number of people using Direct each month has grown from 80 million to 300 million people around the world,” an Instagram rep boasted in a press release last week announcing the disappearing messages feature. “In fact, many of them use group threads every day to stay in touch with their closest friends and family.”

And that’s exactly why these new updates are dope, Snapchat comparisons be damned.

Original Author: Trace William Cowen @tracecowen

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s